Unable to speak in a group or meetings

30 May
chandan pathak

meeting anxiety

Thanks eWellness Expert for starting this portal to help people like me.

I work as a team leader in an MNC in Bangalore. I am very good at explaining things and confident in talking when I am in 1-1 setup, but when there are many people or I am sitting in a meeting, I feel nervous to talk. I keep waiting that someone should ask my opinion then I will speak. I feel somewhat inferior than others (not technically, but personality wise). I keep thinking that I should speak now and it makes me anxious. Is there any way out?

Image source: Carmichael Psychology

Responses 10

• Jaismeen Dua
    Jaismeen Dua   Jun 08, 2017 04:18 PM

Hey there!
    Fear of public speaking is very common, many of us feel the same way you do. Nervousness or anxiety in certain situations is normal, and public speaking is no exception. With a little practice and skill building you can overcome this fear.