How do I tell someone I'm not interested?

04 Jul
Name Confidential

There's this boy who just won't stop texting me! He's a senior at college, and although he's passed out now, and I'm in my second year, it feels too awkward to talk to him. I'm not interested. But, I don't want to sound rude or mean. I don't wanna be the prson who shuts people down. What to do?

Responses 7

• Rimi Sharma
    Rimi Sharma   Jul 24, 2017 07:26 PM

Hey!

You are not the only one going through this. There are many guys and girls out there who have been, at least once in their life, been pursued by someone who they were not interested in.

From this post, it looks like you are not interested at all. There are two ways to approach this situation: being honest, or being tactful. Instead of telling him directly and honestly, I would suggest that you be honest, but not bluntly so. For example, instead of saying “You messages make me feel awkward”, try saying “I don't see any scope of a relationship working out between us. Sorry”. And remember, even though he asks you for an explanation, you do not owe him one. It is entirely your decision to not want to talk to someone.

I can only provide probable solutions, but you have to do the right thing yourself. Just be sure that you don’t hurt his feelings by being rude or straightforward.

If you’re bothered by the frequency with which he texts you or calls, you can simply tell him that you’re busy with studies or work and so on. Sooner or later he will understand that he is not needed, and will stop messaging your completely. But whatever it is that you say, be sure that he understands your situation.

If nothing of the aforementioned things work out, take drastic actions. Block him from messaging apps, phone calls and social media. And tell your friends and family about it, too.

Take care!

• Shanmugi B.P
    Shanmugi B.P   Jul 08, 2017 05:14 PM

Hi!!